Connecting artists, managers and presenters worldwide ™

Musical World

Zora Mihailovich

  • Pianist
  • Teacher


Numerous recordings by Zora Mihailovich can be found on Centaur, Yugoton, PGP-RTS, Virtuoso and Virtuoso Classics labels. Among her recent recordings are Anton Rubinstein Works for Piano (1995), Chopin Piano Sonatas No. 2 & No. 3 and Polonaises (1996), Rachmaninov's 2nd Piano Concerto and Franck's Symphonic Variations for Piano and Orchestra (1998), Mozart's Piano Sonatas K. 282, K. 331 and K. 333 (1999), and Rachmaninov's 2nd Sonata, Six Musical Moments op. 16, and Preludes (2000).

Ms. Mihailovich is currently artist-in-residence at the University of Rochester.

Taught first by her mother, Dobrila Mihailovich, she began her musical career at the tender age of five, with the J.C. Bach Double Piano Concerto. At 16, she made an acclaimed debut with the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra. A year later, she became the youngest person ever to graduate from the Academy of Music in Belgrade. She completed her studies in Rome at the Academia di Musica Santa Cecilia with the renowned Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli. From 1975 to 1989, she was Professor of Piano at the Belgrade Academy.

Moving to the U.S., she was a Guest Artist at the University of Southern California School of Music (1989, 1992, 1996). She has also been Guest Faculty Artist at California State University at Fullerton, and Guest Artist at the California Institute of Arts. As well, she has served as Visiting Professor at the University of Arizona's School of Music in Tucson, and at the Uppsala School of Music in Sweden. She has also been a judge for the Jeunesses Musicales International Piano Competition in Belgrade and the Concerto Competition in Los Angeles. As a Steinway Artist, she gives master classes in Europe and the U.S.